True confessions and an invitation…

I need to fess up.

I live in the land of good intentions…but my follow-through stinks.

If I had a dime for every time I’ve started something and then slowly petered out, I think I’d finally have the extra money to remodel my living room. Or at least get that new leather couch I have my eye on.

So today I’m grateful that my God is a God of re-dos and reboots and returning. Let me explain.

I started out the fall with great intentions of participating in a local Bible Study…you know, the one where you go each week and listen to a lecture and answer your questions and feel all peachy keen that you could check off your box that you did your good Christian deed?

The only problem was I needed a different pace, a different plan, and a different purpose. I needed to just sit with Jesus each day and soak in just a few verses and be freed from my Sunday School answers so that I could hear His voice and know His heart. Ever feel like that?

However, quite honestly, I’ve floundered these past few months. But it’s a new month soon, so it’s time to reboot. This month I am soaking in Romans. I’m reading it slowly–only the first eight chapters. But I’m just going to read it, sit with it, let the Word sink in my soul, and see what God does in my heart.

Care to join me? I’ll be reading and blogging my way through two chapters in Romans each week in March as I also read Comfort from Romans by Elyse Fitzpatrick this month.

You can find her new book on Amazon or get her e-book from Crossway, but honestly, if you don’t have a chance to get her book, you just need a Bible. It’s as simple as that. Then each Monday we’re invited to join Elyse on the Crossway blog as she shares encouragement and invites interaction in the comment section. We’ll read through the first eight chapters together culminating in Easter at the end of the month. I can’t think of a better way to get ready for celebrating the Resurrection!

I’d love the company. I need the accountability. More importantly, I need to dwell in the truth of the Gospel and reboot my Bible reading plan. I need to believe and rejoice in the Gospel all over again. You’re invited to join me…

