when you need a fresh start…

The steam swirls above my cup. I clasp and pray. Pray for a new day. A new month. A new way to welcome the light.

journal

This month, a handful of ladies and I are diving into Romans. One day at a time. Some days, one verse at a time.

Slow and steady. There is no race to win. Just a heart to grow.

We’re reading Romans this month and leaning into the Spirit. Asking God to imprint His word on our hearts and do a new work.

Our companions for the journey? The Word, Elyse Fitpatrick’s Comforts from Romans, and many lovely ladies who are hungry for the same. {I’ve also found a pretty journal to record my thoughts along the way.}

Ready? Set? Let’s go….

Romans is…meaty…convicting…encouraging…confusing…inspiring…spot on?

Martin Luther says Romans is

“the chief part of the New Testament and the very purest Gospel, and
is worthy not only that every Christian should know it word for word,
by heart, but occupy himself with it every day, as the daily bread of
the soul. It can never be read or pondered too much, and the more it
is dealt with the more precious it becomes, and the better it tastes.”

Romans is…the Gospel! I love this!

Oh, how I need to hear it again and again. Breaking down the idols of my heart and shining light on the dark places. Feasting on the Bread of Life.

In her intro to Comforts from Romans, Elyse shares three goals of reading Romans:

1-To make us hungry for the Bread of Life

2-To nourish our souls

3-To draw us to the Word and the love of God in Jesus.

Good goals. What are yours?

Romans 1:1 reminds me that Paul is not the hero of Romans. Jesus is. Sure, Paul was the writer, and he had a pretty impressive come-to-Jesus meeting on that ancient Damascus road. But he’s not the hero.

Paul was once an enemy of Jesus for being a “good religious guy.” Paul’s story is my story. I see myself in him. I need rescuing. I see where I am tempted to trust in my own “goodness” (as if I can really claim that as my own!) And like Paul, God once “ruined me” by giving me grace and by showing me that my goodness is never good enough. Only His is. And He continues to ruin me daily.

Paul was a servant. Am I a servant? If I am honest, I’d rather be served than serve any day. But God is slowly starting to ruin that, too, in me and teaching me the joy of servanthood. {Joy even in washing the dishes and doing the laundry on my grumpiest days? Yes!}

Elyse asks some important question…

“Do you think of yourself as God’s servant?”
“Where does my servant identity rest on?

And I ask, “What does it really mean to be a servant of Jesus? What will it look like in my life?”

I think Philippians 2:1-11 has some light to shed on servanthood. And comfort. And encouragement.

My prayer…God, graciously make your Word wildly fresh and delightfully delicious to me once again.

{Good news! You can read an excerpt from Comforts from Romans here. There’s five days worth to read and consider…}
:: Tomorrow ::
more of Romans 1:1
3 Comments

  1. Kara – thank you for these words “The steam swirls above my cup. I clasp and pray. Pray for a new day. A new month. A new way to welcome the light” this is exactly what I needed to read at 4:30 a.m. this Saturday moring as I can’t sleep and worry about this party for Alan today…and our next chapter in our lives… “a new month” ….”a new chapter.” Looking forward to reading Romans and more of your blog…you are such an inspiration to me.

  2. Come “ruin me”, Lord Jesus. Ruin me and rescue me from myself and my misperceived goodness.

Comments are closed.