What is the Gospel?

{{{Reposting to match up with the Reboot Reading Plan}}}

Romans 1:1     Paul, a servant of Christ Jesus, called to be an apostle, set apart for the GOSPEL of God…

It’s such a churchy word. G.O.S.P.E.L. Years ago I thought I understood it. Until I crashed and burned from trying to live for Jesus through my own efforts. Things that God is daily ruining in me over and over and over to remind me of my need for the Gospel. I needed it to come to Jesus years ago but I need it everyday to live the Christian life. How foolish I was to think believing the Gospel was a one time thing, and then I just needed to move on to deeper truths. The Gospel IS that deeper truth that I uncover more and more of each day.

I’ve heard it said something like this: Cheer up! You are far more sinful than you ever imagined, but you are far more loved than you ever dreamed.

How discouraging and comforting all in one!

Yet, over the years, coming to terms with the fact that I am far more sinful than I ever realized has slowing been growing in me more and more compassion and love for all kinds of people. Messy people. Because the truth is, I’m a mess, too.

And it’s helped me to receive more and more of His love, too. Once I thought I was a sinner who was deeply loved. Now, I realize I am a deeply loved sinner. There’s a world of difference between the two. And it’s made all the difference in the world.

David Benner puts it this way in his book, Surrender to Love:

“What a different relationship begins to develop when you realize that God is head-over-heels in love with you. God is simply giddy about you. He just can’t help loving you. And he loves you deeply, recklessly and extravagantly–just as you are. God knows you are a sinner, but your sins do not surprise him Nor do they reduce in the slightest his love for you.”

Amazing love!

So, how has your idea of the Gospel changed over the years? More importantly, how is the Gospel changing your heart daily?

:: Tomorrow ::

Romans 1:3-4

Click here for earlier posts on Romans Reboot:

Invitation & Confession

Week 1: A Ruined Righteousness

