But Now…God!

Welcome to Week 2 of Romans Reboot!

{Romans 3:21-26} For all have sinned and fall short of the Glory of God…

I have a pastor friend who once taught me a very deeply profound truth: “all” means all. I think about this when I hit those “all” passages. All have sinned. The Jew and the Gentile. The unrighteous and the self-righteous. We all miss the mark. We can’t measure up to God’s glory. Not a one of us.

I love the quote from John Stott…

“The harlot, the liar, the murderer, are short of it . . . but so are you.
Perhaps they stand at the bottom of a mine, and you on the crest of

an Alp; but you are as little able to touch the stars as they.”

I’ve heard a similar quote before comparing ourselves to someone like Jeffrey Dahmer. If he can barely jump up to God, like barely get his feet off the ground, and we can jump a little higher, like maybe hope to touch the rim of a basketball hoop, God’s righteousness and glory are still so much higher that both he, the criminal, and we, the “innocent,” fall short. Only Jesus completely, perfectly fills the gap.

“All” is a great word. And so is “But.”

All fall short….BUT now the righteousness of God has been manifested apart from the law . . . the righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ for all who believe. (vv. 21–22)

Being right with Jesus doesn’t happen by following the law. We can’t do it. It happens through faith. And the gift? Glorious, gracious, generous gift? God looks at me just as if I had never sinned and just as if I had always obeyed. His favor, His smile, His welcome.

“All” and “But.” Two words. Three letters. One message. The Gospel.

:: Tomorrow ::
