Expecting a Blessing

{Romans 4:3-8}

We were bundled up, huddling close on a hay rack, riding and singing together as a family through the fields of Nebraska. The children wanted to sing “Jesus Loves Me, This I Know,” so we all chimed in. Again and again. As the last chorus ended, my sister-in-law piped in: “Ok, kids, we know this, but do we believe it?” Do we believe?

Belief. Truthfully, most days I need to preach the Gospel to my heart again and again and then weakly mutter, “I do believe, please God, help my unbelief.”

Many days my unbelief feels bigger than my belief, and then I remind myself that it only takes a mustard seed.

And as tiny as that mustard seed is, it’s the key to my approval and acceptance before God.

“Abraham believed God, and it was counted to him as righteousness.” {Romans 4:3}

Can we say, “We believe God,” and know that our belief alone makes us right with God?

Do we believe God’s promises? That He is big enough, wise enough, strong enough, kind enough, enough for our needs today? Do we know in the depths of our hearts, beyond a shadow of a doubt that belief in His promises do come with a blessing? Do we believe that His blessings are good? Do we believe that He is good and trustworthy and true? Do I believe?

That was one of the central beliefs that Adam and Eve questioned in the garden. Is God good? And it’s the question God asks me every morning when I wake up, “Do you believe today that I’m good and that I’m crazy in love with you?”

Today my heart sings, “Yes, Jesus loves me! Bring on the blessing!”

:: Tomorrow ::

Romans 4:13

Click here for earlier posts on Romans Reboot:

Invitation & Confession

Week 1: A Ruined RighteousnessThe Gospel of God...A Hidden GloryLoved by GodThe Righteousness of GodAccording to His WorksThe Praise of God

Week 2: But Now GodMeet Me InUpholding the Law

1 Comment

  1. It’s heartbreaking and amazing that for people of all backgrounds and cultures and social classes, from different parts of the world, Satan’s lie that God does not really love us resonates from generation to generation. Thank you for shining light on this darkness, Kara.

Comments are closed.