A Blessing to the Whole Earth

{Romans 4:13}

Promises. We all make them. We all break them. But not God. He is so Other than us that it would go against His character to  do so. Every time I discover a glorious rainbow in the sky I think of the promise made to Noah not to destroy the earth again. Every rainbow whispers His promises back to me.

The promise made to Abraham in this passage goes back to Genesis, too. God said, “I will bless those who bless you, and him who dishonors you I will curse, and in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.” {12:3}

Ultimately, this promise is fulfilled through Jesus. In Jesus, we are blessed and made a blessing to the earth, according to Galatians 3:16.

I love what Elyse Fitzpatrick says in Comforts From Romans:

“It may appear that God’s declaration that we will be a blessing to the whole earth will never be fulfilled, that we’re just too weak and the difficulties are too great. Personally you might feel isolated, as though it’s just “you and Jesus” trying to hang on til the end. I want you to have faith to see that God is doing something bigger and grander than anything you can imagine. I want you to see yourself as part of the plan of the ages, part of God’s metanarrative initiated in eternity past and played out for thousands of years in human history, and that will surely be realized in eternity to come. You are part of God’s blessing to the whole earth. You are part of a grand family.” {pg. 57}

Makes me want to belt out a loud chorus of “Father Abraham.” It also reminds me that my small life is pretty important. Even when I don’t understand what He’s doing. And that’s comforting.

:: Tomorrow ::

Romans 4:22-25

Click here for earlier posts on Romans Reboot:

Invitation & Confession

Week 1: A Ruined RighteousnessThe Gospel of God...A Hidden GloryLoved by GodThe Righteousness of GodAccording to His WorksThe Praise of God

Week 2: But Now GodMeet Me InUpholding the LawExpecting a Blessing

