No Condemnation

IMG_6965

{Romans 8:1}

If I don’t believe and live out the truths of Romans 1-7, then I can’t live out the truths of Romans 8:1. I live in condemnation. Condemnation of myself and where I fall short. Because I will always fall short.

When I live in the truth of Romans 1, I know I am loved by God and that when I live by faith, I am welcomed by God. Then, there is no condemnation.

When I live in the truth of Romans 2, I experience God’s kindness that leads me to repentance. There is no condemnation.

When I live in the truth of Romans 3, I remember that I am no better than my fellow sinner. All have sinned. All have fallen short. There is no condemnation.

When I live in the truth of Romans 4, I claim the promises of God by faith. There is no condemnation.

When I live in the truth of Romans 5, I experience peace with God who chooses to meet me in my mess and weakness. I remember it’s not my performance that makes me right with God, but the obedience of one Man that matters. Then I know in the depths of my being that there is no condemnation.

When I live in the truths of Romans 6, I remember who I am and I fully identify with the death of Christ and the resurrection of Christ. When I don’t live under the law but rather under grace, there is no condemnation.

When I live in the truth of Romans 7, my feeling of failure and guilt are overshadowed by God’s deliverance and my heart is filled with thankfulness, not condemnation.

I’m still learning to live the truth of Romans 8:1, but I know now more than ever the importance of its “therefore.” I know my heart needs to embrace Romans 1-7 before I can live a life free of condemnation.

Today is Maundy Thursday named for the night before Jesus’ death that He gave his disciples a new command. “A new command I give to you, that you love one another; just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another.” {John 13:34} I had always thought of it as merely the last night He had supper with his friends. It was more than a supper.

It was the night before He was betrayed. Betrayal–the ultimate slap in the face. Yet instead of condemnation, Jesus loved and showed us how to love others–weak, messy, fallen people who don’t deserve a second chance, just like me. But just as I am loved, I am called to love others. I’m letting that sink in this Maundy Thursday. Amazing Love!

:: Tomorrow ::

Romans 8:28-30

Click here for earlier posts on Romans Reboot:

Invitation & Confession

Week 1: A Ruined RighteousnessThe Gospel of God...A Hidden GloryLoved by GodThe Righteousness of GodAccording to His WorksThe Praise of God

Week 2: But Now GodMeet Me InUpholding the LawExpecting a BlessingA Blessing to the Whole EarthCounted as RighteousWeek 2 Recap

Week 3: Standing in GraceWeakness & WrathReconciled & ReigningOn One Man’s ObedienceIdentity & RememberingUnder Law, Under GraceGod Forbid!

Week 4: Freed to Serve Through DeathHoly & Righteous & GoodBlessed Wretchedness

1 Comment

  1. Beautiful summary of Romans 1-7, Kara. You’re right – reflecting, really meditating, on the first seven chapters helps us embrace a “no condemnation” perspective. We must keep preaching it to ourselves over and over.

Comments are closed.