Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me {a book review}

I’m fascinated by other people’s lives. {Maybe because I get tired of my own and want a little variety sometimes.} That’s the beauty of memoirs. They are a window into people’s homes, hearts, and souls. I find something in common to make a personal connection on one page and then on the next page I am reminded of how many different experiences people can have and how so radically different life can be for any two people based on the where, when, and who. Ian Cron’s memoir, Jesus, My Father, the CIA and Me, is one such window into the world of a young boy who grew up longing for a healthy relationship with his earthly father and stumbled into building a relationship with his Heavenly Father. It’s tragic, hilarious, transparent, and inspiring.

I was initially drawn into what life would look like having a father who worked for the CIA. Cron is a masterful storyteller, and at times it seemed I was watching a Hollywood movie. People can’t make stuff like this up, but this was real life for Cron. As his story unfolded, however, I was more drawn into what life looked like for Cron as the wandering son of an alcoholic father, longing for the stability and security of a father’s love.

I am always fascinated by how God uses many different circumstances and people to draw people to Himself. My favorite part of Cron’s memoir was hearing him recall his first impressions of going to a Young Life meeting {not favorable}, and then the relationship with his Young Life leader that sparked and fueled his love for God. It was a reminder that the best way to lead people to Jesus is simply to love and care for them. This is especially powerful for children from broken families.

Reading Cron’s story is something like watching episodes of The Wonder Years–just add spies and lots more booze. It’s comedy, drama, tragedy, and redemption. It’s a hopeful reminder of a God who pursues people and makes all things new. It’s a story you’re not soon to forget.

Note-I’m reviewing this book for BookSneeze. They send me a book; I read it and sneeze out a review. It’s contagious!

