whatever prayers

 

Day 25: The Fruitful Wife {and Son}Prayer is a mysterious thing. Does it change things, or does it mostly change us, I wonder? One thing I know to be true, is that prayer connects me to God.

Quite honestly, my prayer life is a mess. Mostly muddled, unorganized arrow prayers that I shoot up to God at random times. And yet, maybe that’s what prayer is supposed to be all about, anyway. A continual conversation, not just a scheduled conference.

John says, “If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.” This confuses me. I get the abide part. It’s the whatever part that completely stumps me. Some name it and claim it people would tell me differently, but I know better. God is no Santa Claus or dreamy Genie. He’s better and bigger and wiser and more wonderful. Not to mention a zillion times more powerful. Someday I will find out exactly with “whatever” means, but in the meantime, I’ll abide.

There’s a lot I don’t understand about prayer, but one thing that I do. It’s this: Praying reminds me that I am not in control, but that I have a loving Heavenly Father who knows all things and can do all things. I can ask whatever, and somehow, God works in it for my good and His glory.

“When you stop trying to control your life and instead allow your anxieties and problems to bring you to God in prayer, you shift from worry to watching. You watch God weave his patterns in the story of your life. Instead of trying to be out front, designing your life, you realize you are inside God’s drama. As you wait, you begin to see him work, and your life begins to sparkle with wonder. You are learning to trust again.” -from “A Praying Life: Connecting with God in a Distracting World” by Paul Miller

4/31

whatever

I’m writing for 31 Days! Learn more about it here.

