on learning contentment

Sometimes I think Paul was a superhero.

Jails. Beatings. Shipwrecks.

Not to mention he managed to live without Starbucks.

So what was his secret?

Not superhero power {and certainly not Starbucks caffeine}, but abiding in the super power of Another.

When my kiddos were younger than they are now {sigh}, we read a simple book called, Molly Wants More. Sweet Molly had everything she needed, but wherever she went, she saw what others had, and soon her happy little heart was not so happy. And then she was not so sweet anymore.

Her mother would gently remind her again and again, “The Lord is my shepherd. I have everything I need.” And that would help, until the More Bug bit her again.

I think of Paul and Molly as I sip my Starbucks. I have to fight the More Bug everyday. To be honest, I’m still a work in progress when it comes to contentment. I have to fight for a happy heart and trust the Author of my life. His story is better than mine, and I don’t need to be a superhero. I just need Jesus. He’s all the hero I need for whatever my heart desires. And that will make my heart truly happy.

“for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content” -Paul

9/31

whatever

I’m writing for 31 Days! Learn more about it here.

