3 questions to start your morning

tuneFor four straight years in high school, my days would each begin in the same way. Every morning, I would drag my tired body out of bed, pack my backpack filled with homework, and grab my violin case only to rush out the door, drive across town to the local high school and stumble into the orchestra room filled with sleepy students. Orchestra was first period. Half asleep, we would tighten bows, rub rosin, and turn pegs. A cacophony of sounds would slowly emerge from the tired instruments then crescendo into chaos as we each listened and tuned. Finally, our conductor would appear, tap her baton to command our attention, and almost magically, we would begin to make music.

I think about those days some mornings. I’m not such a morning person these days, and I have no rehearsal to rush off to, but I am mindful that I have to tune my heart each and every day. Especially on Mondays.

So here’s 3 questions that go through my mind in the mornings.

1- What is important today? I’m choosing to focus on the important, not the urgent these days. Yes, sometimes I turn into task mode and list making and productivity, but I’m learning to slow and focus and ask God what is important. “God, my list is long,” I pray, “but what is important to you today? Order my day.” This is hard for me, so I quickly rush to my next question, because for me, this is a more important question to ask.

2-Do I believe the Gospel today? I’m learning to talk to myself more than listen to myself. I’m learning to preach the Gospel to myself each morning. It’s kind of like having a pep talk. I remind myself this is all light and momentary. That He who began a good work in me is faithful to complete it. That God is good and He loves me. That who I am in Christ is more important than what I do. That my Redeemer is faithful and true and His mercies are new every morning. That I would dwell on whatever is truenoblerightpurelovelyadmirableexcellentpraiseworthy. I pray, “Show me Jesus,” because He is all this and more.

3-If I believe the Gospel, then how is that true in my life today? Finally, I’m learning to ask the big question, IF. If I believe this, then how will my life be different today? What difference does Jesus make in my little corner of the world? It’s all too easy to get caught up in the sin that so easily entangles, so how will I let Jesus’ resurrected life be real in the here and now? I can say I believe, but if I really do, how does this show up in my life?

This last question, IF, gets me every time. I see I have a long ways to go, but that Jesus also loves me where I’m at. My life can be crazy, chaotic, and out of tune, or I can offer it to Jesus each day and He can turn it into beautiful music. It’s a good place to be, especially on a Monday morning.

“Can I believe the gospel, that God is patiently transfiguring all the notes of my life into the song of His Son?” ~Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts Devotional: Reflections on Finding Everyday Graces

28/31

whateverI’m writing for 31 Days! Learn more about it here.

