gospel encouragment

The package arrived the other day, and I could hardly wait. Another Bible? Who needs another Bible? Don’t we already have the Jesus Storybook Bible, the Adventure Bible, the Study Bible, the ESV Bible, and the Message Bible. Why another Bible?

bibleIt’s true; purchasing a Bible today is confusing. There’s 1001 colors, versions, sizes, styles, and that’s just the beginning. Publishers these days seem to market their Bibles according to the latest trends. {Most of them drive me crazy.} But this latest Bible hot off the press is different. It’s the ESV Gospel Transformation Bible, and it’s a keeper.

bible2I have to admit my bias. Opening the pages felt like meeting old friends. I don’t usually read the introductions to Bibles with such enthusiasm, but this one is different. You see, my husband went to seminary and studied under one of the editors. Several of the contributors were professors, mentors, pastors, friends, and acquaintances. People that matter to us and so many we respect and love. So, with my beloved 66 books of the inspired word, I get the wisdom and teaching of these godly men and women that I respect so much in my margins as well. It’s a win-win!

What makes this Bible truly special? Although you will not find the usual maps and timelines of a traditional study Bible, you will hear the unique voices of the contributors each bringing their expertise to the text. You will read them tie in the Gospel in all of scripture and make applications of Gospel truths to all of life. You will trace the red thread of Jesus from the beginning of Genesis to the end of Revelation. How great is that?

Reading the Gospel Transformation Bible is like curling up with Jesus, an old friend and a big ‘ole cup of Gospel encouragement. I heartily recommend it.

“For whatever was written in former days was written for our instruction, that through endurance and through the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.” Romans 15:4

29/31

Disclaimer: Crossway provided me a brand new ESV Gospel Transformation Bible for this review. It’s my pleasure.

whateverI’m writing for 31 Days! Learn more about it here.

